American Advisory Committee (AAC)

The AAC is comprised of distinguished scholars from various cultural and educational institutions across the United States.

The AAC screens the following programs:

  • Research Fellowship (Long-Term)
  • Research Fellowship (Short-Term)
  • Doctoral Fellowship
  • Institutional Project Support Program (IPS)
  • Institutional Project Support – Small Grant Program

Awards are made on the basis of scholarly and professional quality, the project’s contribution to a better understanding of Japanese culture, arts, language, and society, and the project’s potential to stimulate cultural relations between Japan and the world.

Based on the recommendations of the AAC, the final selection of grantees is made by The Japan Foundation Tokyo Headquarters. Applicants are notified of the results in April.


as of September 2018
Name Institution
Prof. E. Taylor Atkins Northern Illinois University
Prof. William Bodiford University of California, Los Angeles
Prof. Michael Bourdaghs University of Chicago
Prof. Julie Nelson Davis University of Pennsylvania
Prof. Andrew Gordon Harvard University
Prof. Eiko Ikegami The New School
Prof. Keller Kimbrough University of Colorado Boulder
Prof. Patricia Maclachlan University of Texas at Austin
Prof. Laura Miller University of Missouri-St. Louis
Prof. Mari Noda The Ohio State University
Prof. Morgan Pitelka University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Prof. Ann Sherif Oberlin College
Prof. Mike Smitka Washington and Lee University
Prof. Steven Vogel University of California, Berkeley
Prof. Christine Yano University of Hawaii at Manoa